What is the “toxic hustle”?

Ami B. Patel
6 min readSep 13, 2020

Disclaimer: This article is not intended to call out those who are able to manage their side gigs and are working hard to build their career. You are entitled to your hustle. This article is to raise awareness about the cost of losing yourself to the hustle to the point where you lose sight of your goal or it becomes detrimental to your mental, physical, and emotional health.

The Grind

I was in my final year at UC Irvine. I was President of Circle K at UC Irvine, double majoring in Computer Science and Business Information Management, interning at Panasonic Avionics, and participating in the intense recruitment cycle for a full time Product Manager role at tech company.

Now that’s work Ami.

Outside of work, I enjoyed playing volleyball, practicing my calligraphy, and trying new food across the Southern California.

  • I went on sporadic trips during the weekend with my housemates to LA to try new foods.
  • I explored the boundaries of lettering by making canvases and starting an Instagram to share my journey.
  • I broke a sweat during open gyms but felt liberated sprawling on the court.

But, then the grind began.

This is how I felt as I dabbled into everything I put on my plate.

I worked for 10–12 hours/week at my internship during the school year and I’d drive 20 minutes to get there and another to get back.

Serving as President for the Circle K chapter at UC Irvine is a huge responsibility. I ran a board of 42 students to serve over 420 members.

The annual Tech Career Fair approached and I did not feel prepared relative to the overwhelming talent I saw around me.

During this time, there was one week in particular that drained me more than any other. I skipped all my classes and went to work in the afternoon. Upon returning from work, I’d take a 15–30 minute nap. I woke up and wrapped up any immediate assignments for my classes within an hour or two. I drove to campus while quickly grabbing fast food on the way because I didn’t eat all day. I arrived on campus to help out for one of our annual district events. I would rush to eat while driving and I stayed there till about 10–11pm. Then would end my day by outlining the next day and finishing any pending homework before sleeping.

False Truth

My housemates rarely saw me home. I developed poor eating habits. I began to break out and began sleeping poorly too.

Those sporadic travels stopped. I barely had time to take out my art supplies unless it was for my club. I did not have the physical energy to play volleyball.

Even though I knew I was barely keeping up, I thought being busy was good. It was a sign of me putting effort and doing my all that I could.

Otherwise, I wasn’t doing enough.

For the club, I thought I had to set the example. Be the leader who could always be there and help out in every way. My mind was “always on”.

I thought putting up a front was okay. But this is how I felt on the inside.

This is the dark side to a hustler mentality.

Dealing with the “Toxic Hustle” Repercussions

Being “always-on” is not healthy.

You will lose sight of your normal everyday surroundings. For me, I began to spend less time with friends that mattered the most to me. I thought because they were the closest they’d understand why I have to postpone lunch or dinner plans.

They obviously understood, but it is a tradeoff I made.

I put work above them. I missed out on spending as much time with that friend before graduating.

You jeopardize your mental health and overall well-being.

For me, I began sleeping less than 4 hours a day. Again, not okay. Your brain will not function well — retaining information and making decisions become that much harder. I felt grumpier and even more on-edge than usual. This resulted in me feeling negative more often. I faced the repercussions of this as well.

I received a first round interview from each of the Big 4 companies. I was excited and nervous. I choked during my Facebook call. I doubted my answers during the Google one. It was no surprise that I was rejected from the first round of every single one.

Even worse, when I looked on LinkedIn, I saw many successful students who created their own startup, interned at the Big 4, and/or did 2-3 other side gigs. I experienced major imposter syndrome vibes. These were the students getting the opportunities that I wanted. I thought, “Wow, I’m only doing a small part relative to them. No wonder I was rejected.”

It is not easy to see the errors of your way in this mindset.

You are more inclined to criticize yourself than take a break.

Yep, I felt aggravated at myself just like Stitch over here.

Especially considering social media’s portrayal of success, I found it easier to belittle the work I did.

The truth is if I relaxed, slept well, and allowed my authentic self to shine, those interviews would have been way different. But, I can’t go back. Instead I can learn from it.

Identifying the “Toxic Hustle”

  1. You’re not sleeping at least 7 hours.
  2. Shift in eating habits.
  3. Spending less time with your friends and family.
  4. “Feeling Tired” all the time.
  5. Trouble concentrating and remembering simple things.

These are a few key indicators that I experienced and found similar trends in those around me.

Shifting Gears

It might be hard to figure out what to do once you identified this issue. But, here are a few tips and tricks.

Turn off your work switch.

It’s become very easy to forget this especially as most of work remotely causing our home and work lives to be blended like never before. A few reminders:

  • Set designated hours for when you will work
  • Take your breaks away from your work station
  • Leave your work at work.
As Nike always says, just do it. Close the laptop and step away.

As an example, I might work from 8AM-5PM. At 12pm, I will take an hour lunch. I will go downstairs eat lunch then maybe read an article or watch a Youtube video. At 1pm I’m back to work and then once it’s 5pm, that’s it. I did my fill for the day and I step away from the station.

Disclaimer: Yes, there might be situations where you need to step into work off-hours. Just make sure it does not become a recurring instance. It is very easy to fall into that hole. So, be cognizant of yourself.

It might be hard depending on your environment, but whether you have a desk or corner, try to create a separation of some sort. This is important in regards to your work/life balance.

Less is more

Reprioritize your goals and priorities. One thing I thought is extremely useful is Warren Buffet’s 25/5 Rules of Productivity. Here’s the general idea:

  • List 25 goals you hope to accomplish in your life
  • Rank these goals and circle your top 5
  • Your top 5 will be forefront of your focus and the other 20 is your “avoid at all costs” list
  • Until you succeed with your top 5, don’t give attention to the other 20

The reason behind this process is because the other 20 goals are distractions that prevent you from achieving your top five. Ruthless prioritization is key. Studies around multitasking show that adding another task correlates to a decrease in your performance level.

By focusing on your top 5, you will feel more fulfilled and accomplished.

Dedicated “me” time

Make sure you are checking in with yourself frequently.

Something I enjoy is having blackout hours. I allot myself at least 5 hours over the weekend since I spend my weekdays primarily working. During those hours,

  • I go offline all social media (Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, LinkedIn, etc.)
  • I avoid any work related tasks that includes school, internship, interview prep, etc.
  • I engage in any other activity. Sometimes that is watching anime, doodling, at-home spa treatment, or even nothing.

The goal of this is to take a step back and recharge so you don’t feel overwhelmed with the need to be productive all the time.

Be like Squirtle over here.

Take time to smell the flowers

It is important especially if you are in your early career to live a little. Remind yourself to embrace your life instead of succumbing to the pressure of the “hustle”.

Final Thoughts

There’s a difference between challenging yourself and hurting yourself.

If you’re still unsure, try reading this Forbes article, “Job Habits That Shorten Your Career And Life.”

As friends and family, if you see someone you care about falling into this hole. Talk to them. Maybe they are lost. If they are important to you, say something to help them.

If you are someone in this mentality, think about how you want to live your life.

Whether you want to preserve your meaningful connections or tie yourself down with the chains of toxic “hustling”?

--

--

Ami B. Patel

Incoming Program Manager @ Microsoft | persevering in life one day at a time 💫